Geology for civil engineering

Lisa Connoly

My role is to provide geological expertise to site investigation and site assessment for major civil engineering projects A good description of my role is given by the Prospects website.

‘You don’t need an MSc to get in to the industry however it is advisable. I have chosen to take a years leave of absence to go back to University on a full time basis to achieve an MSc Engineering Geology as I feel it will benefit me in my long term career.’

Lisa Conolly –  MSci Geology, Graduated 2007

Scott Wilson, Ground Engineering Department

Lisa joined Scott Wilson Ltd Birmingham office (Engineering and Environmental Consultancy), now part of URS.  She worked in the Ground Engineering Department, as a Graduate Geologist.

My role is to provide geological expertise to site investigation and site assessment for major civil engineering projects.  In particular as a junior member of staff I am generally responsible for:

  • Developing the conceptual ground model
  • Logging soils and rocks to British Standards
  • Site supervision of ground investigations
  • Writing geotechnical reports
  • Slope stability analysis for railway projects

During my time at Scott Wilson I have worked on a number of high profile civil engineering projects in the UK and overseas. In 2008 I spent 2 months working in remote West Africa for a major international iron ore project. I enjoy the job as I have a variety of office and site based work and get to see projects through to the end. Over my 21 months at the company so far I have seen my level of responsibility continually increase (with promotion) and I am constantly challenged within my role.

There are many opportunities to develop within this career and a large variety of work that engineering geologists can get involved in including slope stablity, tunnelling, mining, civil engineering, geomorphological mapping and project management. I was attracted to the variety of the job and my interest in the industry but also the opportunities and work-life balance. Engineering geologists are needed all over the world and there can be alot of opportunity for international travel, however I also wanted a job where I could be based in the UK, choose where I wanted to live and not work away from home for continual extended periods of time. You don’t need an MSc to get in to the industry however it is advisable. I have chosen to take a years leave of absence to go back to University on a full time basis to achieve an MSc Engineering Geology as I feel it will benefit me in my long term career.

About Marcus Belben

I work with people of all ages finding creative ways to connect with each other and the wider world - Community Heritage Arts Technology.

Leave a Reply

