Global Challenge – Samsung SDS Blog 1

Dear Blog,
What a week! You cannot even begin to imagine how much has happened this week! From seeing the city of Seoul lit up like a fairytale from the Namsung tower at midnight to working a six day week. The week has certainly had its highs and lows.

As I like to believe I’m an optimist, I’ll start with the highs: two corporate lunches, meeting lots of new amazing work colleagues, visiting Samsung D’light, visiting palaces, museums, markets and Seoul tower and coming home after a long day at work to find that your room has been cleaned and the refreshments have been restocked every evening! It has been an amazing week and I am excited about my stay here.

Okay, so I make it sound like the high life, but the truth is it hasn’t all been good times. A few of lows are as follows: people speak very little English and half of the time avoid speaking to you, there’s hardly any vegetarian food, you have to work harder than you’ve ever worked in your life, the heat here is combined with heavy rain, which makes my hair frizz out into an afro and I’ve managed to sleep about four hours each night as I haven’t adjusted to the time change and I’ve been trying to do extra research as well as maintaining contact with everyone back home.

However, that’s enough negativity for this entry. My first day didn’t go as I had pictured it in my head. On the first day I was ready to go. I had my new work clothes on, my bag packed and set out 20 minutes early, even though the office is a five minute walk away. How was I still late? I turned up at the wrong building! I had to approach a stranger and get help even though I couldn’t remember the name of my point of contact. At this point it was like something out of a film! I eventually got to work at 9.10am and explained the situation, he totally understood and it wasn’t an issue. Looking back on it, it could have only happened to me!

Through the week we worked until around 7pm each evening and then often explored the local area. The area that we live in, Gangnam, is the business district and comparable to Canary Wharf. It looks beautiful in the evenings as there are a lot of tall buildings with flashy neon lights and colorful shops fronts all over the place. Seoul is known for being one of the safest cities in the world and therefor there are always many people walking and sitting around in the evening socializing. There’s a great atmosphere here, I can tell I will enjoy my time here.

That’s all for now Blog, I have a pile of work to do.
x

About careersbham

Student Engagement Officer for Careers Network University of Birmingham

Leave a Reply

