Working for the International Student Advisory Services

int-jen-miskov220x165Hello, my name is Jen Miskov and I am a surfer girl from California, USA. I came over to the UK to pursue a PhD and I graduated in July. Being at the University of Birmingham has been a valuable and special time in my life with great opportunities that I don’t think I would have had elsewhere.

My first part time job here was working for the International Student Advisory Services where I was a Project Coordinator and Team Leader for the Welcome Week International in the summer of 2008. I led a team of 50 people to welcome nearly 1,000 international students to the University. We did a Bollywood event, Irish dancing event, and an amazing cultural show. The skills I learned and developed through this project definitely challenged me and enabled me to grow in new ways.

I have also had the opportunity to join the Personal Skills Award team as a Facilitator and Lecturer, and I also worked with Careers Network as a CV Advisor. This was a wonderful opportunity not only to get some income to support myself, but also develop my communication skills by teaching students the importance of employability. Teaching on this subject made me realize so much more the significance and value of understanding my own employability.

While in the UK, I also published my very first book called Silver to Gold: A Journey of Young Revolutionaries (www.silvertogold.com). This is a short story inspiring people to follow their hearts and pursue their dreams. Hopefully it will continue to encourage people to thrive in their careers and reach their full potential.

I am truly blessed to have had so many different and exciting jobs and work projects during my time at the University of Birmingham. It has not only expanded my network of friends, but also my skills and my own employability for the future.

About careersbham

Student Engagement Officer for Careers Network University of Birmingham

Leave a Reply

