Global Challenge – Museum Victoria, Blog 1

My name is Emily and I was the winner of the Global Challenge award run by the University of Birmingham. It is a unique scheme to give students once-in-a-lifetime opportunities as interns in top global companies. The company I am working for is Museum Victoria in Melbourne. My project involves planning for public engagement in the centenary of World War I, as well as research and collection development and documentation relating to the ongoing impact and legacy of World War I on Australia.

The flight over here wasn’t great – After 3 planes, 26 hours, power failure on 2 different planes, an engine breaking down on one plane, 2 cancelled flights, 5 hours delay, no sleep at all and my baggage stuck in Sydney… I finally arrived in Melbourne and it looked amazing!

On my first day, having received my baggage, gone for a food shop and caught up on sleep, I went to explore the character-filled streets of Melbourne! Firstly I walked around Carlton Gardens and had a look at where I am going to be working for the next 6 weeks – Museum Victoria. It looks amazing with a living rainforest as you walk in! I then caught the free tourist shuttle bus from outside the Museum which goes all around Melbourne. I saw the Arts Precincts, Federation Square, Sports Precinct, Chinatown, Lygon Street, the University of Melbourne, Queen Victoria Market, Docklands, Southbank and the Yarra River, The Royal Botanic Gardens and The Shrine of Remembrance which is Victoria’s memorial to the service and sacrifice of men and women in times of conflict – which is relevant to my WW1 project with the Museum! I love what I have seen so far and now I can’t wait to start work!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

About careersbham

Student Engagement Officer for Careers Network University of Birmingham

Leave a Reply

