Global Challenge – Samsung SDS Blog 3 (LP)

Hi Blog,

I HAVE to start with the AMAZING weekend that has just gone by! I am officially in love with Korea and have decided to stay here forever, in my dreams!

The weekend started at 6pm on Friday, I finished work on time and me and my colleague (Marisha) took the subway to an area called Myeong dong. It’s known for its beauty skin care shops and great restaurants. We had arranged it earlier in the week and I could not wait to leave work. The subway there took around an hour, at home this is considered a long time to travel just to go shopping, but I knew that it would be well worth it. As soon as we left the station I knew I was in for a treat. The thing I love the most about Seoul is that there is an amazing atmosphere where ever you go; its streets are well lit and always busy. In Myeong dong there is a huge outdoor shopping area with many shops and stalls selling all sorts of stuff. We walked around for a couple of hours and finally decided that we wanted to go to a Vietnamese restaurant. This was the highlight of the evening, we had an amazing meal in a beautiful restaurant and spoke about all of the antics from the office and I felt as though I was talking to a friend I known for years rather than a few days. We will definitely be returning there before the end of my visit.

The next day we had arranged to take a visit to a lake called Cheong pyeong to participate in some water activities with the wakeboarding committee from Samsung SDS. We woke up early and met at the office at 7.30am. This was also beautiful and a wonderful day out! Wakeboarding was a lot more difficult than I had an anticipated it to be, but nonetheless it was a thrilling experience. After wakeboarding we went to the Olympic stadium as Andrius (the other Global Intern) was going to a festival. We all had some food outside the stadium and watched the people go in before I returned back to my hotel and had an early night.

Weekends are not for resting here, as we’re not here for a long time it is important to make the most of everyday. On Sunday morning I woke up at 5am as I was visiting the DMZ – Demilitarised Zone. This is the border between North and South Korea. This was fascinating! I learnt so much about the history of the country and took a walk down one of the infiltration tunnels. About 300m down into this tunnel the only thing I could think was ‘Leena, this is not the time decide you do not like confined spaces’. The tunnel was dim and narrow and the walls were covered with dynamite holes, it was an amazing experience! This tour ended in a famous tourist area called Itaewon. I had heard much about it and couldn’t wait to see it. When I got there I realised that it would have been more fun, had I not been alone. I went into a few shops and had a good look around. About 20 minutes later I was approached by a guy who wanted to know where to exchange money. He was with his parents and they were visiting from Texas. They were a lovely family and very excited to be in Seoul. They asked if I wanted to hang out with them for the day and it was one of the best decisions I made. We went around Itaewon and to a palace nearby and took lots of pictures, it was as though I was with my own family, they also called me there daughter. That evening we went to a Mexican restaurant and I had my food: fajitas that I had missed very much! It was a wonderful day and I will have promised to visit my new American family sometime in the near future.

I know I haven’t spoken too much on my week at work, but this was also amazing. I love the people that I work with and enjoy learning about the service line I am working on: DSC. This week my project plan and work scope changed again I just hope I have enough time to get it all done. I also met many more people working in the company and do not have a bad word to say about the whole experience.

If there is something I can say about travelling, it is that it is shaped by the people you meet. I have been so fortunate to meet some amazing people and look forward to getting to know them better and staying in touch with them in the future. I am a very lucky girl!

Until the next time blog, sweet dreams……..

About careersbham

Student Engagement Officer for Careers Network University of Birmingham

Leave a Reply

