Stand Out from the Crowd: Vlogging

It always sounds strange at first when I tell people that I make videos on YouTube because… well, it is a bit weird. I created a YouTube account and starting making videos and uploading them after I saw other people doing it and I thought it looked like fun and I wanted in. At the time, I had no idea that things would have gone the way they did and how much of an impact YouTube would have on my life. I now have almost 15,000 regular subscribers to my YouTube channel and over 700,000 video views, as well as 3,000 followers on twitter. It’s insane.

I’m a vlogger (video-blogger). I make videos of myself talking to the camera about my life and things that I find interesting. Occasionally, I dabble in comedy and music and I also have a successful sex education series. Although it is all a bit odd, I’m extremely proud of what I do and I’ve managed to find a way for it to benefit me in the future in terms of employment.

YouTube has meant that I have gained writing, presenting, editing, camera and social media skills all through my own initiative. I have met loads of other amazingly creative people and worked with them on many occasions YouTube has allowed me to meet and network with so many interesting people all over the world. I’ve discovered that I have a passion for networking, it gives me such a buzz!

I’ve not only gained skills that will boost my employability but before I started making videos I had no clue what I wanted to do after I graduated and now I feel like I’ve got a much stronger idea (although it is still all over the place). I want to work in PR, communications, social media, television, media production etc. They’re all such competitive industries but my YouTube experience will help me stand out from the crowd, it’s something very unique. Recently, I attended a Creative Careers event in TV and Media Production. I talked  to one of the panellists afterwards about YouTube and what I do and he told me to email him with a link to one of my videos. So I did and he got back to me saying they’d get in touch if they thought I’d ever be suited for any on-screen roles they have. Obviously, it’s nothing definite but my work online is really helping me get my name out there.

 Creating content on YouTube is a hobby-turned-part-time-job. I love what I do, the people I’ve met and the opportunities it has given me. Back in September, myself and several other YouTubers were selected to attend a weeklong video production workshop at Google HQ in London. It was such a brilliant experience. I learnt so much and made some great contacts with people who work for Google. It makes me so incredibly happy that something I just started for fun has turned into something that could genuinely lead to a career.

Hannah Witton

@hannahwitton

About careersbham

Student Engagement Officer for Careers Network University of Birmingham

Leave a Reply

