UoB postgrad creates successful Fostering agency

Yusuf Chaudhri, started a business called Ethnical Fostering

Yusuf Chaudhri

Entrepreneurship & Innovation (EI) helped Yusuf to set up ‘Ethnical Fostering’ a service promoting foster caring to people from minority ethnic backgrounds.  The scheme has already helped 40 children gain successful foster placements.

“Without the financial support, guidance and mentorship offered to me by the University I would not have been able to start Ethnical Fostering.”

Ethnical Fostering company logoInspired by his attendance at the ‘change-makers’ summer school at the beginning of his third year, he founded his business, Ethnical Fostering, with an UnLtd grant obtained with support from the EI team. The company specialize in raising awareness and recruiting potential foster carers from ethnic minority backgrounds.

Yusuf’s view

Through my business, I am hoping to achieve social change and help encourage more people to foster children; inspired by the children my own family has fostered over the years.

Additionally, the founding of my own business was perhaps the key component of my acceptance onto a graduate scheme. The EI team also assigned me an experienced mentor who helped me to work through the myriad of legal and financial issues associated with the founding of a business, in an efficient and effective way.

Three key skills

I would say that the three key skills I took away from my University course are:

  • The ability to problem-solve
  • The ability to think in an innovative, entrepreneurial manner
  • Self-belief

‘Involvement with EI and other services offered by the University is an excellent opportunity, which is not readily available in the world outside of university. I wholeheartedly encourage you to take it and maximise the potential learning opportunities from the experienced individuals you have available.’

‘EI has helped to develop my entrepreneurial skills and thinking, which not only assisted me in obtaining a position on a graduate scheme, but has continuously helped me to stand out from my work colleagues through the application of innovative, entrepreneurial thinking, which was initially sparked through the ‘change-makers’ programme.

Looking ahead

Yusuf is currently on a project management graduate scheme with BAE Systems. He hopes to continue to accrue project management skills and experience with the end vision of running his own company full-time, and expanding his business with growth into a second city.

Leave a Reply

