Ex UoB student creates AppBell app after graduating

Lee Stennett started his business AppBell Ltd at the University of Birmingham

With the fast pace of the digital age, phone apps have become popular with fitness being a competitive market to break through. While studying Mathematics in his final year, Lee came up with ‘Appbell fitness‘, a fitness app that rewards weightlifters with discounts to protein supplements for working out or goal progression.As a graduate,he is now working on the business full time, determined to make his idea happen.

‘I first became interested in start-up when I did the modular Personal Skills Award (PSA). A business start-up programme was presented to me in my final year when I began to realise that having a graduate job was not something I was be sitting behind a desk doing a job wondering ‘what if …

‘My idea, ‘Appbell’, was a fitness app that rewards weightlifters with discounts to protein supplements for working out or goal progression.There were many similar apps that existed; the gap I spotted was that none of them had a reward feature specific to the type of user.

‘I encountered many setbacks that kept the idea from launching. The main issues were finding the right people to help me develop the app and funding. So I networked like crazy and I received a loan from the UK and get feedback. I learned how to get started, which were all great confidence boosters.

Also, learning how to keep all aspects of my business in order, made me very disciplined. I would definitely recommend starting a business – as a job isn’t for everyone.’

Leave a Reply

