Birmingham University Internship Programme: Events and Communication Internship

By Jennifer Giles, 2nd year, English Language and Applied Linguistics

A summer internship was something I’d always wanted to do since starting University. I really wanted something to fill my time over the summer vacation that was actually going to benefit my career directly.

Before starting this internship I worked as an Alumni relations Assistant in the College of Arts and Law with my now Internship manager. My experience has been slightly different to the norm as I had already immersed myself in the working world and was familiar with my surroundings before I started. However that doesn’t mean to say I wasn’t scared on my first day! I had all the same questions running through my mind – Will I do things wrong? Will I forget someone’s name? What if I can’t find where to make a cup of tea in the morning?!

It all turned out okay and I did manage to find out where to make that all important cup of tea! – along with many other things. I have enhanced various employability skills such as communication, leadership and professionalism. Being in a working world environment makes you a more mature individual and I feel the internship has equipped me for taking that leap from full time student to full time employee.
A day in the life of a Birmingham University Internship Programme (BUIP) Intern:
I want to show you what a normal day is like for a BUIP Intern and what to expect from the job role!

08:45 – Take the nice walk from University station to the Arts Building – handy that Costa and the fruit and veg man are on the way!
09:00 – turn the computer on to find an inbox full of emails about exciting and interesting plans for the day.
09:00-12:00 – Plan events with different companies and organisations! From Cadbury World to tours in Oxford I will liaise and communicate with many people on a daily basis. Once I have communicated with the organisation I set aside time to put it into a word document for my manager in a set and organised manner.
12:00 -12:30 – eat lunch on the beautiful campus grass!
12:30-15:00 – Make a PostBox! Making the PostBoxes for the graduation ceremonies shows just how versatile a BUIP internship really is! I can be making PostBoxes one day and creating a brand new booklet for the College of Arts and Law the next.
15:30-16:00 – Meet with designers for a new publication the College of Arts and Law is creating. I have been leading this project for a few weeks now and we are coming to the final draft ready for print!
16:00-17:00 – check my email inbox for any last minute items. Make a to do list for tomorrow morning so that I can prioritise effectively.
17:00 – Hometime! And I’m ready to do it all again tomorrow!

photo 2photo 1

Some of the Postcards used at the University open days held recently.
I designed these with the help of my manager and they were used all throughout the open days! It was lovely seeing something you created come to life.

About careersbham

Student Engagement Officer for Careers Network University of Birmingham

Leave a Reply

