Birmingham University Internship Programme: Events and Communication Internship

I am writing this on the penultimate day of my work as the College of Arts and Law’s events and communication intern. I can honestly say that this internship has made my summer not only a productive one but has also been a very enjoyable experience!

In the first few weeks of my internship I was involved in organising and booking events for a Taiwanese Summer School that was being organised by the college. This involved communicating with many people, both internal and external, to organise events across the UK. I booked a number of events, from a Beatles Experience Tour in Liverpool, to an Oxford Bus Tour, to a curry in Selly Oak. I enjoyed and learned a lot from this task. I learned how to organise my time and work which will be important for both my later University studies and employment in the next few years. It was really worthwhile and I loved hearing about how enjoyable the students found the trips!

I have been involved in the creation of a booklet for new students in the college. This idea came to me from my line manager who wanted to provide new students with a student guide. This will not only inform them about the exciting educational opportunities on offer but help with social skills and adapting to University life. My manager gave me almost complete leadership on this project – I have been in charge of talking to designers, staff in the college, and talking to our alumni and students for amazing quotes. It is one of my proudest achievements and I cannot wait to distribute the hundreds of copies ordered to the new students throughout the year!

Jennifer Giles photo

Another really amazing task I was a part of during my internship was helping with the graduations in July. When my manager first asked me to go out and speak to the graduates I was slightly nervous. I am a fairly shy person and I was worried it would be a task I would find too difficult. However, it was honestly one of the most enjoyable parts of my internship and it has greatly improved my confidence and communication skills. I had to ask graduates to write on whiteboards what they would miss most about the University (often Joe’s and occasionally the library!) The photographers would then come and take pictures of the graduates and upload these onto the Alumni Facebook page. It was a wonderful experience for all involved and increased our social media activity by a vast amount.

I would like to say a big thank you to all who have made my experience on this internship an amazing experience. Careers Network has provided really interesting and helpful sessions over the weeks including CV writing skills, interview techniques, and presentation skills. Everyone who I have worked with in marketing, recruitment, and admissions in the Arts Building (you know who you are!) have made this experience such an enjoyable one. I’ve felt welcomed at all times and will be sad to leave. I would like to say a huge thank you to both Charlotte Heap my line manager for the internship and Caroline Ashton who have supported me through this internship in every way. They have given me a lot of freedom in certain tasks and always been on hand for support. Finally I would like to thank those at BUIP (run by Careers Network)  for providing this opportunity. It’s a great opportunity for all students to undertake and I would recommend to all!

Jenny, Events and Communication Intern, 2014

About careersbham

Student Engagement Officer for Careers Network University of Birmingham

Leave a Reply

