Studying wetlands in Canada

Samantha Probert cooling off in Canada

Samantha Probert in Canada

Samantha conducted her research project on a wetland area in the Northern Boreal Forest in Canada. The purpose of her research was to identify the environmental controls on bryophyte species (a type of land plant), and in turn, their impact on site moisture content and flows. Samantha used advanced ecological and hydrological equipment for her research. Samantha’s findings were then used as part of a bigger research project for the reclamation of wetlands which have been mined for oil.

“I thoroughly enjoyed meeting like-minded people who could offer me advice and guidance for my potential future career, as well as supporting me in my work place. I found all of my colleagues to be very helpful in teaching me everything from how to avoid mosquitoes to how to operate equipment.’’

Samantha Probert, BSc. Geography

Research Volunteer in the Northern Boreal Forest Canada

Some of the equipment Samantha became familiar with in the Northern Boreal Forest

Some of the equipment Samantha became familiar with in the Northern Boreal Forest

“My main achievements have been learning and using advanced technology within the field, which in turn has vastly improved my understanding and knowledge of ecological concepts and hydrological science… I successfully collected sufficient and perhaps more than enough data and will continue to analyse this data upon my return home. As I will be writing my own paper with this data, it will be used to support any paper of my colleagues’, therefore I may be a joint author on any of their future published paper due to my significant contribution [which] would be an amazing accomplishment and would improve my CV substantially.”

About Marcus Belben

I work with people of all ages finding creative ways to connect with each other and the wider world - Community Heritage Arts Technology.

Leave a Reply

