Away in an Assessment Centre

(To be sung to the tune of Away in a Manger)

Away in an assessment centre

I started to cry

When I saw other candidates in a suit and a tie.

My jeans were so scruffy

My teeth were not brushed

My hair was still fluffy

It looked like I’d rushed.

In the group exercise

I started to fret

A group full of people

I never had met

The clock began ticking

And none of us spoke

This whole group activity

Was going up in smoke.

At last came the interview

I slouched on the chair

As they asked me the questions

I played with my hair

I tried to give answers

But didn’t get very far

My answers were rambling

I wish I’d used STAR

As the day ended

I made a deep sigh

Then noticed the dirt mark

Along my right thigh

The shock and the horror

At being unprepared

If I’d contacted Careers Network

I would not have been scared

About careersbham

Student Engagement Officer for Careers Network University of Birmingham

Leave a Reply

