Working for Careers Network: Suna Yokes

suna

Suna Yokes works as part of the Careers Network Student Engagement Team (SET) as a Film & Digital Projects Assistant

I assist the Multimedia Manager with a range of tasks including filming, editing and subtitling video content for the YouTube Channel. What I love about my role is that it’s creative. Sometimes I will be asked to go along to certain lectures, talks or workshops and film content. But if I find some events or sessions that I think would be good to capture, I have free rein to do so. For example, I attended an interactive workshop with multi-business entrepreneur Mike Bandar and made a video which included an interview with Mike as well as highlights from his presentation and the group activities. I also went to the Societies & Services Fair earlier this year with Mehek, another member of the SET team. We interviewed several society’s members about how doing extra-curricular activities can make you more employable.  I like the fact that no two days are the same and that I am contributing towards making content that can be viewed and shared online. I hope to take the skills I have developed further, particularly camera operating, video editing and managing the YouTube account, into a career when I leave as I hope to work in the TV industry. I have no doubt that working for the Careers Network has been an invaluable stepping stone into my future and I would highly recommend the organisation as a supportive employer. 

 

And here are the links to 2 of the videos I made this year:

 

About careersbham

Student Engagement Officer for Careers Network University of Birmingham

One thought on “Working for Careers Network: Suna Yokes

Leave a Reply

