Success Story: Brian Bircham and Capgemini

Brian Bircham was a UoB Business Management student who took part in the Capgemini Community Challenge, and later secured a graduate position with Capgemini.

What led you to apply for the Capgemini Community Challenge?

I first heard about Capgemini through a ‘lecture shout out’ in one of my modules in the second year. I have to admit I hadn’t heard about Capgemini before, but the week on the ‘Community Challenge’ sounded worthwhile, as it’s not often you have an advantage to work so closely with a big company! It also sounded like a great opportunity to meet people and try something completely new!

 

What did you get out of the week?

The community project week was the first time I had worked in an office environment. I was pleasantly surprise that office life at Capgemini seemed open and the ASE (Accelerated Solutions Environment) represented something completely different!  I was surprised how there was so much going in Capgemini yet our mentors made time for us to help develop our ideas over the week. Our work for the charity showed me that you can have an impact regardless of your age – most of our solutions were implemented.  By the end of the week the team had really bonded and we have all kept in touch since.

 

Why that led to you applying for a job in Capgemini

Building on the Community Challenge week I was keen to know more and wanted to see if Capgemini was for me. The follow-up conversation and my own research highlighted that Capgemini offers a wide variety of roles I different locations (UK and International!) I am not particularly technical, but was interested in Business (I did Business Management) so I matched a number of roles that they sounded excited. I applied for the role of business development because I was particularly interested in the client/ sales aspect of the role.

 

What was your first week life? How has life been since you’ve started?

When you join you attend a week’s induction in Telford with other graduates in your intake. Throughout the days you get an overview the graduate scheme/Capgemini – marking the opportunities available over the next two years. At night you can stay in Hall of Residence in Telford (not far from Birmingham). Socials in the night give you a chance to get to know each other outside the office. Once the week is over everyone specializes according to their role. One of the things I’ve noticed is that once you start you have a great support network around you (in the form of a supervisor and a buddy). Both of these support you for the first 6 months/ year of your introduction to Capgemini. So far the work is good. I’m currently involved with a number of projects, all very different, which gives me exposure to new people and places. I am based in Telford but get to travel to London and Newcastle every few weeks, depending on workflow. The graduate community is strong and coming up to Christmas there are a number of socials which keeps everyone in touch. Overall the first two months for Capgemini have been enjoyable and I would recommend this graduate scheme to absolutely anyone who enjoyed the community week.

About careersbham

Student Engagement Officer for Careers Network University of Birmingham

Leave a Reply

