Working for Careers Network: Meg Jarvis

FullSizeRender

Meg Jarvis works as part of the Careers Network Student Engagement Team (SET) as a Social Media Assistant.

After returning from my year abroad, I rejoined the SET team in a different role to broaden my experience at Careers Network – I used to be a Brand Promoter for Entrepreneurship & Innovation. Now that I was based centrally in CN (as opposed to in a college or partner department), I picked up a lot more responsibility. This responsibility has been a fantastic learning experience, and a challenge that I enjoyed stepping up to. This year was much more office based than before, and found myself much busier with marketing activities than with events like I had previously.

Day to day I manage the Careers Network social media channels, so I put together all the information students need to know about and get the word out. This is primarily Twitter, Facebook, and newsletters.

Over the year I have been involved in a number of projects outside my regular workload managing the Careers Network social media channels. I worked on an exciting project rebranding the presence of the Army Reserves on campus, where my work was submitted for demonstration of best practice. My main project over the last few months has been rebranding and relaunching this very blog! I work with different managers across Careers Network to try and get the best services for students, so my job is very varied too.

My role benefits from a good mix of marketing and project work to improve services, which has lead me to a career in public service. I managed to get a nomination for Student Employee of the Year too! I’ve loved the two years working at Careers Network, and genuinely couldn’t think of a better part time job to have as a student – it’s a great financial help, but it’s fantastic for my CV too.

About careersbham

Student Engagement Officer for Careers Network University of Birmingham

Leave a Reply

