Global Challenge: GlaxoSmithKline (GSK) Morocco – Anna Traykova

First week

I arrived at Casablanca airport on a warm Friday evening. The driver that my host had ordered for me was already waiting for me with a sign with my name. He took me to the place that I booked through the AirBnB website. My host welcomed me and made me feel very comfortable. The room was nice and clean and I had a small balcony overlooking the street. The host and his wife were very polite and nice. I had a whole weekend to explore the city before starting my internship at GSK.

Redouane at GSK had already sent me a map with instructions of how to find the office. The weekend at Casablanca was very interesting and I got the chance to walk around, meet some locals and explore. On Monday I was at the office at 9:00am. One of the HR team members came down to meet me and showed me around the office. I was sat with the other interns from Morocco. One of the team is also working with the HR team and the other two work with the Procurement and Business departments.

On the first day, I got the chance to meet most of the GSK employees and to introduce myself. On Tuesday my laptop was waiting for me and I had a meeting with the other HR intern and one of the HR team members from Singapore. He divided the tasks in two and gave us two common projects to work on together.

I and Taha (the HR intern) have to help with the organisation of an assessment day at the end of July and also to help organise a charity event at the office. My individual project is focused on improving the available information for the local market and updating the database of the HR team. On my second day I was also introduced to the GSK intranet page where a lot of the information I will need is stored.

All interns also had to complete four e-learning courses before starting work on their individual projects. The e-learning courses were introductory courses to GSK’s policies and code of conduct and are mandatory for all employees. After completion of the courses we received certificates to show that we had completed them.

On Wednesday I had a meeting with Redouane during which, he explained a bit more about what he expects from me and what sources I can use to work on my projects. Outside of work I am exploring the city and enjoying the Moroccan cuisine which is very good and relatively cheap. So far everyone has been very welcoming and nice and I started learning a bit of Arabic. Speaking French has turned out to be extremely useful as pretty much everyone here speaks it and I already feel an improvement in my language skills. Additionally, the weather has been great – not too hot yet but just perfect! I am looking forward to the Ramadan as it will be an interesting part of the Moroccan culture and way of life!

By Anna Traykova

About careersbham

Student Engagement Officer for Careers Network University of Birmingham

Leave a Reply

