Global Challenge: PriceWaterhouseCoopers (PwC) Singapore – Nadrah Rozman

It was an overwhelming first day to work as I hustled and bustled with the peak hour crowd – most of whom shared the same destination as I did – towards Singapore’s central business district (CBD). As Singapore is a city full of skyscrapers, it took me quite a while before I spotted the huge PwC logo amongst the many other tall buildings housing established organisations.

PWC nightview PWC office
PwC Building at night.                                   View from the office.

Day 1 featured on-boarding activities such as orientation and the familiarisation of my role as an intern in the Marketing & Communications department. Following the fast pace of life, I was almost immediately tasked with providing support for PwC Technology day – one of PwC’s many internal events – that was happening in a few days.

PWC tech day

The day of PwC Technology day saw the attendance of PwC’s partners and employees, Google as well as tech start-ups who shared with us valuable information on how to be technologically smarter in our lives.

I was glad to be a part of this event as the technology industry is one I avidly keep up with. It was a great day of wonderful insights and networking with the many other employees of PwC.

I was also simultaneously tasked with a few other assignments of which formed the core of my role as a social media intern – a relatively new role formed alongside PwC’s growing social media presence – such as performing and translating analytics as well as support in social media content management. Siew Ling, my supervisor, also gave me the opportunity to work alongside the Tri-University Recruitment Fair (TURF) committee to plan their social media strategies that will best attract undergraduates like myself in joining PwC upon graduation. Learning of the many opportunities available to me, I wished I had a longer time with PwC – and I was only done with my first week!

Earlier in week 2, I was predominantly busy with conceptualising social media strategies for my first meeting with the TURF committee. In fact, week 2 was a relatively short one as ‘Hari Raya Aidilfitri’ or also known as ‘Eid al-Fitr’ is commemorated as a national holiday on Friday in Singapore. So really the week passed by pretty fast together with a sweet ending full of delicious food from the festive celebration!

Besides the internship, a good work life balance should always be cultivated, right? So here are some snapshots of my time in Singapore during my free time:

Baybeats festival  nandos

Baybeats Festival, live music by the bayfront           Always good for Nando’s

Bazaarsingapore food

The popular annual Ramadan Bazaar at Geylang Serai.

 

 

 

Singaporean Malay cuisine during Eid al-Fitr.

Both week 1 and 2 have been a great eye opener and provided me with a taste of what’s to come in my next few weeks with PwC. I am eager and excited to have embarked on this journey and can’t wait to learn and share with you what else is in store! Meanwhile, do head over to PwC Singapore’s Linkedin, Facebook and Twitter pages for insightful updates on the organisation, and hopefully like/follow/tweet us!

About careersbham

Student Engagement Officer for Careers Network University of Birmingham

Leave a Reply

