Exploring Morocco as an Intern!

header

Djema al-Fna Square, Marrakech

Weeks 4-5
The time at GSK seems to pass so quickly as I start my fourth and fifth weeks of my internship. As Moroccans are still celebrating the holy month of Ramadan, the work at the office starts to get more and more exciting. This week I started working on my project individually after a lot of confusion about what I was supposed to do. The HR dashboard that I am working on turned out to be a tricky project but I am learning as I work on it. I have learned a lot more about the company, the people who work here and the organisation from the data that I have worked with.

                                                                 While creating the dashboard I am also working on a separate project which is exciting and very interesting. I had the chance to meet all the directors and senior managers in the company as I scheduled 1-on-1 meetings with all of them, in order to discuss the current learning and training opportunities within their functions. This was a great opportunity to meet the GSK employees, talk to them about their specific work and understand what their needs were in terms of training and development for their teams. After the meetings, throughout the week I created a spreadsheet with all the information that I gathered. This information will be used to create the learning catalogue. I also had to send follow-up emails and gather information about each specific training session that was done in each department. As I am editing all this information I realise it is actually much harder than I thought it would be as it requires my personal input into the organisation of information.

As one of the HR coordinators is currently not in the office the other HR intern and I have been helping with the organisation of the upcoming assessment day. We had to book suitable rooms for the 2-day event, book extra catering, call each candidate, send emails with directions and useful information and help with the logistics.

The Medina of Rabat

The Medina of Rabat

The Medina of Marrakech

The Medina of Marrakech

The Old King’s Mausoleum in Rabat

The Old King’s Mausoleum in Rabat

Outside of the office I had the chance to visit the city of Marrakech which was so beautiful. It’s very different from Casablanca and very tourist-orientated. I had a lovely lunch with a woman that I met at my hostel and a wander around the beautiful medina and souks. Me and the other Birmingham student visited one of our friend’s houses in Rabat and had dinner with his family. He showed us around the capital, we visited the Old King’s Mausoleum and the coast. I liked Rabat much more than Casablanca and was almost going to stay there for another night, as we nearly missed the last train! On the train we met another student from Birmingham who was travelling around Morocco for 10 days!

By Anna Traykova

About careersbham

Student Engagement Officer for Careers Network University of Birmingham

Leave a Reply

