A Capgemini Community Experience

Lydia for blogFor the third year running, this summer I have been working as an intern at Capgemini, a global technology consultancy firm. For many of you reading this, you may think that technology and consultancy don’t exactly sound like the most exhilarating things to spend your summer doing, and to be honest, I felt the same way three years ago, when I first heard about Capgemini. But hear me out, because believe me; it’s a lot more interesting than you might think…

At the end of my first year as a business student at Birmingham, my classmates and I were offered the opportunity to work for Capgemini on something called a community challenge. Having never heard of the company before, I decided to do a bit of research and soon found out that Capgemini is a multinational company who work with all sorts of fascinating and high-profile clients like Jaguar Land Rover and the government. So I thought “hey, why not give it a try?” And I am so glad I did! The community challenge was a brilliant experience and will be one of my favourite memories from my time at Uni. We were put into teams of five and each team was paired with a local charity. My team worked with the Midlands Air ambulance to create a marketing campaign to involve young people in the charity’s work. If any of you remember Old Joe turning Red for a week in 2014 … that was us! It was so exciting to feel that I was actually contributing and at the same time enjoying myself whilst gaining some great employable skills.

After another year at Birmingham I was sent an email from Capgemini inviting me to apply for a new internship scheme that they were introducing specifically for community challenge alumni. It was another great opportunity to get more involved with Capgemini in a more professional way. And this time it would be a four week internship, allowing me to get a better feel for the company. It was a great way to spend some of my summer, as I was given ownership of my own project. I was amazed and flattered that Capgemini trusted me with something that was actually going to be used in their business. But that is Capgemini through and through… they really strive to support and nurture growing talent. And I really feel that I have gained invaluable skills and connections working with them.

This summer I was back in Telford again, following a year abroad studying in Canada. This time I was working in a different department in Capgemini, which supported project management techniques across the whole of the account. This allowed me to get a much broader view of the company and see what was going on in many of the areas. Even though I don’t have a technological mind at all, I still felt able to engage in the business side of things. They tailored the placement to my objectives so that I could get the most out of the six week experience. And I feel really pleased with the way it has gone.  The Capgemini network has thousands of employees in Telford alone but I still feel very much a part of the family, with Vice President Billie Major even allowing me to shadow her for a day. Everyone at Capgemini has time for you and if they don’t, they will almost always make time.

My next step is to finish my fourth and final year at Birmingham before hopefully applying for grad jobs. I am definitely considering a role at Capgemini, especially within their more creative departments. As you can tell, I am very enthusiastic about Capgemini, as they have supported me and helped me develop my skills as I have gone through the Uni experience. They are a great company to work with, providing a nurturing and friendly environment which also challenges and helps you to grow.

But don’t just take my word for it. I would really recommend taking part in an internship or the community challenge. It truly is an opportunity not to be missed.

Leave a Reply

