Get stuck into your internship

Chancellors Court

Being an average all-rounder and studying such a broad course as International Business with Spanish – I’ve always found it extremely hard to know what career path I want to take after University. With fourth year looming and sadly my time at the University drawing to an inevitable close, I saw the Birmingham Undergraduate Internship Programme (BUIP)as a great way to gain work experience and (I hoped) get a little closer to discovering what it is I want to do. After a tough interview, I was fortunate enough to land the summer internship with Student Services!

For the past 8 weeks I have been working within the Funding, Graduations and Awards Team, reviewing the information on studenthelp and improving/ adding additional FAQs in where necessary – sound a bit like a dull office job? To be quite honest, it was…until I took complete ownership of the role, the project in hand, and once I really understood what was expected of me. It was only then that I was able to set out and achieve my objectives.

I imagine 9/10 people reading this won’t have heard of studenthelp and neither had I before my internship.  I have been collaborating with professionals across the University to make the service more easily accessible, informative and generally known about. My role as Student Information Coordinator also involved a lot of independent work and with that came a lot of freedom: freedom to devise my own schedule, my own meetings and ultimately my own success. An abundance of freedom also meant that I had to take my own initiative day in, day out: to find relevant stakeholders, to formulate a project strategy and to ensure I was getting the most out of the internship as I possibly could.

8 weeks later and I feel like I have made an impact and gone a long way to helping not only the team I was working alongside, but various teams across the studenthelp service. From networking, writing FAQs, influencing my FAQ proposals, to web editing; I have developed and learnt a whole range of skills that have helped me to reach my objectives within my internship and not to mention, given me a huge head start in the big, wide world of business.

So from one BUIP intern, to a potential other – get stuck in, don’t underestimate the job you’ve been given, be open to learning new skills, working in new environments and with perspectives that differ from your own.

Top Tip: Evaluate your strengths and weaknesses before starting your internship and try to develop and improve on them throughout.

Good luck!

About careersbham

Student Engagement Officer for Careers Network University of Birmingham

Leave a Reply

